So as a degree requirement to graduate, I am forced to take ANOTHER foreign language. Apparently 2 years of sign language does NOT count, so I decided, hey, might as well take Spanish.
What a horrible decision! It is constantly an uphill battle over the remarkably stupid conjugations, or the verb usage, or a combination of the two. That, and apparently If you haven't already had Spanish in high school, you are already behind? If that doesn't get to you, in Orlando, and some parts of Miami, all signs must be written in both English AND Spanish. This is the UNITED STATES OF AMERICA. Not the United States of Costa Rica, Peru, Mexico, and Columbia. I think you get my drift.
Working at the local Target, I have come to find out that people will walk up to you, start speaking in a language other than our supposed native tongue..... Im not just talking immigrants from other countries, im talking KIDS here. I had some little dude come up to me the other day, blabbering in Spanish, i cant understand half of it, and he gets all pissy when im all like, "QUE??" Basically what i am trying to say here is that i am all too tired of being at a disadvantage when it comes to interpersonal communication in a country of English speaking people, because the only language that i am fully versed in is English, which is of Germanic origins to begin with.
Alright, enough ranting.
ttyl
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment